What's new

Welcome to Forum - Pearson Vue Trick

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

What Type Of Nurse Should I Be?

Doris R. Alexander

New member
May 25, 2023
Reaction score
Becoming a nurse is a rewarding and fulfilling career choice. It’s a profession with a range of different paths to choose from, and each one offers unique opportunities. From neonatal to geriatric care, there’s something for everyone. So, how do you decide which one is right for you? In this blog post, we’ll explore the different types of nurses, their roles, and the skills needed to pursue them.

1. Registered nurse (RN): Registered nurses (RNs) are responsible for providing direct patient care, delivering treatments, and administering medications. They also work with patients to create individualized care plans, and they’re often the first point of contact for a patient in an emergency situation. RNs typically have a bachelor’s degree in nursing, and they may also have additional certifications or specializations.

2. Licensed practical nurse (LPN): Licensed practical nurses (LPNs) work closely with RNs and physicians to provide basic nursing care. They may be responsible for taking vital signs, changing dressings, and administering medications. LPNs must have a diploma or certificate in practical nursing and may need to complete additional training depending on the state they work in.

3. Nurse practitioner (NP): Nurse practitioners (NPs) are advanced practice nurses who provide care and treatment to patients with chronic or acute health issues. They work closely with physicians to diagnose illnesses, develop treatment plans, and provide education to patients. NPs must have a master’s degree in nursing and must also be certified by their state.

4. Certified nursing assistant (CNA): Certified nursing assistants (CNAs) provide basic care for patients in a variety of settings, including hospitals, nursing homes, and home health care. They may be responsible for providing assistance with activities of daily living, such as bathing, dressing, and eating. CNAs must complete a state-approved certification program and must also be registered with the state.

5. Nurse midwife (NM): Nurse midwives (NMs) provide specialized care to women throughout the childbearing cycle. They’re responsible for providing prenatal care, delivering babies, and providing post-natal care. NMs must have a master’s degree in nursing and must also be certified by their
Top Bottom